Thursday, December 10, 2009

Queue? Que?

Since moving to London last year I have been horrified to find that people here are seemingly unable to form a queue. Not for anything.

I have no idea why this is. Maybe Londoners' lives are so busy they have no time these days to stand in a line? Maybe they feel they are more important than everyone else (as those from outside the M25 have often suspected)? Or maybe it is because a lot of people who live here are from other countries where politeness is not a traditional custom?

Luckily, the Japanese love a good queue, and they will wait for anything. EVEN iPhones (mugs!). Britons now prefer to create a shapeless rabble and shove their way to the front. Shops, buses, hot dog stands. If I wanted barging out of the way on a regular basis I would take up rugby.

Actually, that is a lie, I would never willingly play rugby. Psyche.

Modern manners leave a lot to be desired. I haven't seen a man doff his cap to a lady in a long time. Next time you don your hat, doff.

1 comment:

B-Roll said...

You are a newb. Newb.